How can someone learn more about reverse engineering and decompiling

Any discussion of software that doesn't fit into any category goes here.
a_regular_pear

How can someone learn more about reverse engineering and decompiling

Post by a_regular_pear »

I've recently been fascinated by Matt's videos where he gets a rough idea of how a program works by looking at its hexcode. So I've been wondering what is a good way to learn how to do that and generally gain some knowledge in reverse engineering stuff
acidiclight

Re: How can someone learn more about reverse engineering and decompiling

Post by acidiclight »

As a programmer I would say that being able to engineer and compile software will naturally help out with reverse engineering and decompiling.

Over time you'll tend to pick up patterns and rough jdeas of how software could've been written based on how you youraelf would have done it.

I'm not Matt bhf I know he also writes code. I'm sure some of that knowledge plays into his reverse engineering projects too.
acidic light

I'm a blind game developer. I write code because it's fun.
a_regular_pear

Post by a_regular_pear »

I do have some programming knowledge, while mostly high level I know and have used C. So should I first focus on becoming proficient C++ or even x86 assembly before focusing on reverse engineering specifically
acidiclight

Post by acidiclight »

I would rather just get more familkar wjtb different languages, ljbraries and frameworks. Different OSes and platforms too if that's something you're interested in.

You could also dive into malware and ethical hacking. There are lots of YouTubers that take malware samples and reverse engineer them. You could learn a lot from that. Plus it can even be turned into a career if that's something you're interested in.
acidic light

I'm a blind game developer. I write code because it's fun.
Halamix2

Post by Halamix2 »

In my case I've started reverse-engineering Stunt GP on-and-off a few years ago.