how do i make my own ubuntu based linux distro?

Any discussion of software that doesn't fit into any category goes here.
LemonDogeYT

how do i make my own ubuntu based linux distro?

Post by LemonDogeYT »

i wanna make an ubuntu based linux distro but every youtube tutorial says i have to have linux on my computer to run the software that lets you customize ubuntu. i have set up virtual machines in the past to try and run the linux software but the software always breaks and i wouldnt know how to fix it because im a windows person, so if there was any software made for windows that lets you make an ubuntu based distro, please reply to this post.

(sorry for the bad english i just woke up)
im a tech nerd
flatrute

Re: how do i make my own ubuntu based linux distro?

Post by flatrute »

If you mean to create a completely new distro like Xubuntu (which uses XFCE desktop environment) comparing to Ubuntu (which uses GNOME one) then as far as I know, no, you need to have a Linux environment to do so. If you run Windows 11 and recent enough versions of Windows 10, you could install Windows Subsystem for Linux to have an environment to run those distro builder softwares.

Though, I need to ask a big question. Why exactly do you want to make a custom distro? It is not something that everyone could do. I have been a long time Linux user and I myself never think of making such distro. I would just install an existing one and then customise it to my liking.
It turns out leaving an Internet identity behind is hard MikeBruh

My username is read as "flatorte".

[deleted] posts index

WinNT4SP6

Post by WinNT4SP6 »

Creating your own distro is a pretty monumental task, you should probably just stick with what is already available, especially since Ubuntu based distros aren't difficult to come by.
PogChamp
LemonDogeYT

Post by LemonDogeYT »