How Much Should I Spend On A Soldering Kit?

Any discussion that doesn't fit into any of the other categories goes here.
OisinB

How Much Should I Spend On A Soldering Kit?

Post by OisinB »

I have done some repairs/touchups on consoles with just my iFixit kit (a couple of disc drive replacements on PS3s) but I would like to try my hand at soldering as I would like to replace the HDMI port on my friend's PS4. It seems that there are many rework stations that are quite cheap, but are they any good? What calibre of rework station do I need for console repair? Thanks in advance!
MattKC
Site Admin

Re: How Much Should I Spend On A Soldering Kit?

Post by MattKC »

I'm far from an expert, but I started with a soldering iron that was fairly cheap - about 30 AUD. I now use one that's a lot more expensive (close to 100 USD), and it's definitely a lot better, but I got by perfectly fine with the cheaper one until I was ready to upgrade.

For reference, my current (more expensive) kit is a YIHUA 862BD+.
andreizabest

Post by andreizabest »

It depends how much you're willing to spend. The one mattkc linked (which isn't in stock at amazon but is available on aliexpress) is actually decent value primarily because it also serves the purpose of a hot air station as well all for 100$. Some of if not the best soldering stations are made by hakko and for hot air stations by quick. Louis Rossmann the tech repair god uses them. You can do the job with cheaper stuff but it is going to be more of a hassle.

The HAKO FX-951 240$
The Quick 861DW hot air rework station is 290$

Obviously they're really expensive so given that you're a beginner the Yihua 872BD+ or similar which can be found on aliexpress for around 100-120$ should be good and should last you a while before you'd even consider upgrading. Obviously this assummes that you're going to use it for other repairs and projects in the future and not just for a one-off repair.